

## COWICHAN VALLEY REGIONAL DISTRICT

## **BYLAW No. 4153**

# A Bylaw to Establish Community Parks Advisory Commissions Within the Cowichan Valley Regional District

**WHEREAS** the Board of Directors of the Cowichan Valley Regional District wishes to establish Community Parks Advisory Commissions to provide advice on issues referred and pertaining to park and trail development, park amenities, parks volunteer engagement, parkland acquisition opportunities and community park events specific to the electoral area or sub-regional parks function each commission represents;

**NOW THEREFORE** the Board of the Cowichan Valley Regional District, in open meeting assembled, enacts as follows:

## 1. CITATION

This bylaw may be cited for all purposes as "CVRD Bylaw No. 4153 – Community Parks Advisory Commissions Establishment Bylaw, 2019".

### 2. **DEFINITIONS**

- "Board" means the Board of Directors of the Cowichan Valley Regional District;
- "Commission" means a Community Parks Advisory Commission established pursuant to this bylaw;
- "Community Park" means a park located solely in one electoral area and funded by that electoral area or a sub-regional park funded by two or more electoral areas;
- "Quorum" means a majority of Commission members.

## 3. ESTABLISHMENT AND MEMBERSHIP

- a) A Community Parks Advisory Commission is established for each Electoral Area:
  - Electoral Area A Mill Bay/Malahat
  - Electoral Area B Shawnigan Lake
  - Electoral Area C Cobble Hill
  - Electoral Area D Cowichan Bay
  - Electoral Area E Cowichan Station/Sahtlam/Glenora
  - Electoral Area F Cowichan Lake South/Skutz Falls
  - Electoral Area G Saltair/Gulf Islands
  - Electoral Area H North Oyster/Diamond
  - Electoral Area I Youbou/Meade Creek

- b) The membership of each Commission shall be 7, 9 or 11 members.
- c) Members of a Commission do not have to reside in the electoral area of the Commission they have been appointed to.
- d) A South Cowichan Community Parks Advisory Commission is established consisting of 7 or 9 members who reside in the following geographical area:
  - Electoral Area A Mill Bay/Malahat
  - Electoral Area B Shawnigan Lake
  - Electoral Area C Cobble Hill
  - Electoral Area D Cowichan Bay
  - Electoral Area E Cowichan Station/Sahtlam/Glenora
- e) The South Cowichan Community Parks Advisory Commission must have at least one member appointed from each electoral area identified in section 3 (d).
- f) The Board may suspend, cease or replace a Community Parks Advisory Commission established under this bylaw.
- g) Directors and CVRD employees are not eligible for appointment to a Community Parks Advisory Commission. The applicable electoral area Director(s) may attend Commission meetings in a non-voting advisory capacity.
- h) Applications will be sought from the public for consideration of appointment to the Commission whenever a vacancy occurs or is about to occur.

## 4. TERM OF OFFICE

- a) The term of office for Commission members shall be for a two year term expiring on December 31. For 2019, the Board may appoint some members for a one year term so as to create overlapping terms for the purpose of continuity.
- b) Commission members may be re-appointed for a further term or terms.
- c) In the event of vacancy of office, a replacement appointee shall hold office for the otherwise unexpired term of office.
- d) The Board may, at any time, terminate the appointment of a member.
- e) The Board may remove from membership any member appointed who has failed to attend three consecutive Commission meetings without good cause.

### 5. PROCEDURE

- a) At the first meeting in each calendar year, the Commission shall elect from amongst its own members, a Chairperson and a Vice-Chairperson of the Commission who shall hold office until a successor is elected.
- b) In the absence of the Chairperson or Vice-Chairperson, the Commission shall elect, from the members present, a temporary Chairperson for the purpose of that meeting only.
- c) All resolutions of the Commission shall be made by a majority of the members present at the meeting, with each member having one vote.

- d) If there is no quorum of the Commission present within fifteen (15) minutes of the scheduled time for a Commission meeting, the Recording Secretary must record the names of the members present, and those absent, and the Commission shall stand adjourned until the next meeting date.
- e) Where not otherwise covered in this bylaw, the rules of procedure governing Commission meetings shall be those of the current Committee and Commissions Procedures Bylaw of the Cowichan Valley Regional District.

#### 6. RESPONSIBILITIES

The responsibilities of the Commission shall be to provide advice on issues referred and pertaining to park and trail development, park amenities, parks volunteer engagement, parkland acquisition opportunities, annual budget, and community park events specific to the electoral area or sub-regional parks function each commission represents.

## 7. REFERRALS TO THE COMMISSION

The Board and staff may refer matters respecting community parks to the appropriate Community Parks Advisory Commission(s) in order that the Commission may provide advice on those matters.

### 8. GENERAL

All members of the Commission shall serve without remuneration, except for such "out of pocket" expenditures as may have received prior authorization by the Board.

### 9. **REPEAL**

The following bylaws, and amendments thereto, are hereby repealed:

- a) "Electoral Area "F" Parks and Recreation Commission" Bylaw No. 565, 1980";
- b) "CVRD Bylaw 696 Electoral Area A Parks & Recreation Commission Establishment Bylaw, 1982";
- c) "CVRD Bylaw No. 1009 Electoral Area C Cobble Hill Parks and Recreation Commission Establishment Bylaw, 1986";
- d) "CVRD Bylaw No. 1238 Electoral Area D Parks & Recreation Commission Establishment Bylaw, 1989";
- e) "CVRD Electoral Area "H" Parks and Recreation Commission Establishment Bylaw No. 1342, 1991";
- f) "CVRD Bylaw No. 2057 Electoral Area B Shawnigan Lake Parks and Recreation Commission Establishment Bylaw, 2000";
- g) "CVRD Bylaw No. 2117 Electoral Area E Cowichan Station/Sahtlam/Glenora Parks and Recreation Commission Establishment Bylaw, 2000";
- h) "CVRD Bylaw No. 2315 Bright Angel Park Commission Bylaw, 2002";
- i) "CVRD Bylaw No. 2473 South Cowichan Parks Commission Establishment Bylaw, 2004";

- j) "CVRD Bylaw No. 2484 Electoral Area I Youbou/Meade Creek Parks Commission Establishment Bylaw, 2003";
- k) "CVRD Bylaw No. 2494 Electoral Area G Saltair/Gulf Islands Parks Commission Establishment Bylaw, 2004";

9<sup>th</sup> READ A FIRST TIME this day of 2019. January READ A SECOND TIME this 9<sup>th</sup> day of 2019. January READ A THIRD TIME this \_9<sup>th</sup> day of January 2019. ADORTED this 9<sup>th</sup> day of 2019. January

Chairperson

Corporate Secretary