Elections / Referenda

General Local Government Elections: 

General Voting Day is Saturday, October 20, 2018
Advance voting opportunities are Wednesday, October 10 and Tuesday, October 16.
Polling stations are open from 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. with the exception of the Special Voting Opportunity on Thetis Island for Islands Trust,  hours at this location will be 8:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. Please refer to the List of Voting Places for your voting location. 

Those who qualify for Mail Ballot Voting may click on the page listed to the left, or use this convenient link.  Qualifications and parameters for this type of voting are listed in detail on the mail ballot voting page.

General questions about local government elections in BC may be found in this informative guide

Regional Assent Voting - Referenda:

In addition to voting in upcoming local government elections, eligible electors of the CVRD and its four member municipalities will be provided opportunity to vote in region wide Assent Voting (Referenda). Advance and General Voting dates are listed above. Please note the Town of Ladysmith's second day of Advance Voting is Wednesday, October 17 rather than the 16th.

Eligible electors will be asked two Referendum questions to establish regional services. More information on regional assent voting is available here.  

Information for Candidates:

General information for Candidates for Electoral Area Director is available here. An updated listing of  2018 CVRD Electoral Area Director Candidates can be found on CivicInfo or Elections BC. The Declaration of Election by Voting, Assent Voting and Acclamation  can be viewed here.

Voter Registration and Qualifications: 

General information for Voters is available here.


Electoral Areas: A - Mill Bay/Malahat; B - Shawnigan Lake; C - Cobble Hill; D - Cowichan Bay;  E - Cowichan Station/Shatlam/Glenora; F - Cowichan Lake South/Skutz Falls;            I - Youbou/Meade Creek - Notice of Election by Voting and Assent Voting 

Electoral Area G - Saltair/Gulf Islands - Notice of Election by Voting and Assent Voting 

Electoral Area H - North Oyster/Diamond - Notice of Election by Voting and Assent Voting

Thetis Island Local Trust Area - Notice of Election by Voting and Assent Voting 

City of Duncan; - Notice of Assent Voting

Municipality of North Cowichan - Notice of Assent Voting

Town of Ladysmith - Notice of Assent Voting

Town of Lake Cowichan - Notice of Assent Voting 


Availability of List of Electors/Objections and Non-Resident Property Elector Advance Registration

Joint Notice of Nomination

Notice of Nomination - Electoral Area H - North Oyster/Diamond Specific

Contact Us:

Chief Election Officer
Email: kharrison@cvrd.bc.ca 

Deputy Chief Election Officer
Email: scarlow@cvrd.bc.ca